Bruch, Max


Bruch, Max

Canzone in B-Flat Major for cello and orchestra Op.55 (Piano Reduction/Solo)

Art.-Nr.: 1734b Kategorien: ,



Max Christian Friedrich Bruch

Canzone in B-Flat Major for cello and orchestra op. 55

Date of composition: July 1890, Bergisch Gladbach, Germany
First publication: Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1891

Requested by and dedicated to the cellist Robert Hausmann Hausmann,
who was also the dedicatee of Bruch’s Kol Nidrei.

January 6, 1838 (Cologne (Köln), Rheinprovinz, Königreich Preußen) – October 20, 1920 (Friedenau)

Max Bruch was a German composer who wrote over 200 works, notably his moving Kol nidrei for cello and orchestra, op. 47, and the first of his three violin concertos (Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor, op. 26 1866), which has become a staple of the violin repertory. Although he was raised Rhenish-Catholic, the National Socialist party banned his music from 1933-1945 due to his name, his well-known setting of a melody from the Jewish Yom Kippur service, and his unpublished Drei Hebräische Gesange for mixed chorus and orchestra (1888).

Bruch was also an accomplished teacher of music composition from 1892-1911, conducting seminars and ensembles at the Royal Academy of Arts at Berlin (Königliche Akademie der Künste zu Berlin). British composer Ralph Vaughan Williams studied with Bruch, describing him as a proud and sensitive man. Bruch actively resisted the Lisztian/Wagnerian musical trends of time, and modeled his works on those of Mendelssohn and Schumann. His concerti share structural characteristics with Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto in E minor, omitting the first movement exposition and linking multiple movements. His most lasting contributions to chamber music include works written for his son Max, who was a clarinetist.

Read the preface to the full score / das Vorwort zur Partitur lesen > HERE

Score Data

Score No.



Repertoire Explorer


Solo Instrument(s) & Orchestra


225 x 320 mm


Piano Reduction & Solo Cello



Das könnte Ihnen auch gefallen…

Nach oben