Fuchs, Robert


Fuchs, Robert

String Quartet No.3 in C major Op.71 (parts)



Robert Fuchs
(b. Frauental nr Deutschlandsberg, Styria, 15. February 1847 – d. Vienna, 19. February 1927)

String Quartet in C Major, Op.71, No.3

Allegro molto moderato e grazioso
Allegro vivace
Adagio molto e con sentimento
Finale: Allegro con brio

Robert Fuchs made a highly significant contribution to the musical life of Vienna in the late nineteenth century. He moved to Vienna in 1865 and studied composition with Otto Dessoff. His main employment was as a teacher of theory at the Vienna Conservatory (1875-1911); in 1875 he was also appointed conductor of the orchestral society of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde. Many famous composers studied with him, including Mahler, Sibelius, Wolf, and Zemlinsky. He was also an organist and held the post of organist at the Hofkapelle from 1894-1905. His compositional oeuvre mainly consists of orchestral, piano, chamber, and choral music. The chamber music comprises one Quintet for clarinet and string quartet (Op. 102); four String Quartets (Opp. 58, 62, 71, and 106); two Piano Quartets (Opp. 15 and 75); seven trios for various combinations (Opp. 22, 57, 61, 72, 94, 107, and 115); twenty Duos for two violins (Op. 55); twelve Duets for violin and viola (Op. 60); seven works (sonatas and fantasies) for violin and piano (Opp. 20, 33, 68, 74, 77, 95, and 103); two works for viola and piano (Op. 86 and 117); three works for cello and piano (Opp. 29, 78, and 83); and two works for double bass and piano (Opp. 9 and 97).
It is a credit to Fuchs’s talent that Brahms, whose praise was hard won, was impress-ed with many of his compositions.


Read more / Mehr lesen > HERE

Score Data


Repertoire Explorer






Set of Parts


225 x 320 mm

Nach oben