Elgar, Edward


Elgar, Edward

Sonata for Violin and Piano in E minor Op. 82 (parts)



Elgar, Edward

Sonata for Violin and Piano in E minor Op. 82 (parts)

For information about the piece you may read the preface of the study score (No 996)

Sonata for Violin and Piano in E minor, op. 82 String Quartet in E minor, op. 83
Piano Quintet in A minor, op. 84

In March 1918, the problem that had affected Elgar’s ear for so long was diagnosed as chronic tonsilitis and it was decided that his tonsils would have to be removed. This represented a major operation for a man of 60 to undergo, but the operation took place on 15th March. Over the next few days, Elgar was in great pain, but he was able to leave the nursing home on 22nd March to return to Severn House, his home in Hampstead. The evening he returned, he noted down a theme that was to become the opening main theme of the cello concerto:


Typically, he did not work on it then, but instead began a String Quartet in E minor on 25th March. Elgar had experimented with string quartets several times before (the main theme of the second movement of the First Symphony had begun life as a quartet), but he had never come near to completing one, or any other piece of serious chamber music, for that matter. But London was not the place to do it. News from the war was bad (the Spring Offensive of 1918, which saw the German army almost in Paris) and London was depressing, with the upkeep of Severn House proving very expensive. Instead, the Elgars went to Sussex…

Full preface / Komplettes Vorwort HERE

Score Data

Special Edition

The Phillip Brookes Collection






Set of Parts


225 x 320 mm

Nach oben