Tinel, Edgar / arr. for organ by J. Jongen & J.B. De Pauw


Tinel, Edgar / arr. for organ by J. Jongen & J.B. De Pauw

Organ transcriptions from Tinel’s Franciscus op. 36.Präludium arr. by Joseph Jongen / Trauermarsch arr. by J.B. De Pauw



Organ transcriptions from
Franciscus op. 36 (1888) by Edgar Tinel (1854-1912)

Joseph Jongen

(Liège, 4 December 1873 – Sart-lez-Spa, 12 July 1953)
Präludium des Oratoriums ‘Franziskus’
(ca. 1898)

J.B. De Pauw

(Brussels, 30 March 1852 – Bussum, 10 June 1924)
Trauermarsch aus dem Oratorium ‘Franziskus’
(ca. 1898)

The oratorio Franciscus op. 36 by Edgar Tinel was one of the most popular works in Flemish music history: after its world premiere on 22 August 1888 in Mechelen, this piece went on an impressive international tour with the support of the publishing house Breitkopf & Härtel. Up until the eruption of the World War I, Tinel’s musical hagiography of St Francis of Assisi was performed hundreds of times.

The great popularity of the piece led to various arrangements of fragments of the oratorio. This edition collects two transcriptions for organ that were both published in Breitkopf & Härtels Orgel-Bibliothek. Perhaps these arrangements were made on the occasion of the tenth anniversary of the oratorio’s world premiere.

Joseph Jongen went to the Conservatoire Royal of Liège, where he studied composition with the director Jean-Théodore Radoux and organ with Charles-Marie Danneels. Besides being an excellent composer, Jongen was also a first-rate pianist and organist. In his native city of Liège, he first was the organist of the Grand Séminaire and then from 1894 onwards of the St James’s Church. From 1898 onwards he shared this position with his brother Léon, so he could travel through Europe with the Prix de Rome (1897) scholarship. Even during World War I, when he was living as refugee in London and Bournemouth, he gave many organ recitals. Jongen composed numerous organ pieces, the highlights being the Symphonie concertante (1927) and the Sonata eroïca (1930). In addition he also created various organ transcriptions of works by composers the likes of Bach, Mendelssohn, Grieg, as well as Tinel.

Jean-Baptiste De Pauw (1852-1924) grew up and studied in Brussels, but he spent most of his life living and working in the Netherlands. After receiving his first music lessons from his father, he attended the Conservatoire Royal of Brussels, where he studied composition with François-Joseph Fétis and François-Auguste Gevaert, and organ with Alphonse Mailly. Before he even graduated as an organist in 1873, he became the head organist of the Schyven-Merklin organ of the St Boniface Church in Elsene. In 1879 De Pauw moved to the Netherlands, where he was made the head organist of the Cavaillé-Coll organ of the Paleis voor Volksvlijt in Amsterdam (the Palace of Popular Diligence) and remained so until 1895. On top of that, in Amsterdam he was also a piano and organ teacher at the Toonkunstmuziekschool and the Conservatory. Among his students were Hendrik and Willem Andriessen, Evert Cornelis, Marius Monnikendam, Hennie Schouten and Eduard van Beinum. As a concert organist and a pedagogue he was an ardent defender of the Franco-Belgian organ culture. De Pauw left a large number of organ transcriptions, including the Funeral March of the third part of Tinel’s Franciscus (starting on p. 375 of the orchestra score).

Both of these transcriptions are kept in a convolute, the rest of which only contains work by the organist and composer Joseph Callaerts (1830-1901). This collection was probably part of his library. It was later acquired by the composer and organist Flor Peeters (1903-1986). The publication of Jongen’s transcription includes a handwritten dedication from Edgar Tinel to the composer and organist Oscar Depuydt (1858-1925), dated 5 August 1898.

Jan Dewilde
Study Centre for Flemish Music

Reprint of copies belonging to the library of the Royal Conservatoire of Antwerp (KVC 131.895). This score was published in collaboration with the Study Centre for Flemish Music (www.svm.be).

Read full Flemish & German preface > HERE

Score Data

Special Edition

The Flemish Music Collection


Solo Instrument


210 x 297 mm





Go to Top