Beschiu, Lucian / arr. Turcanu, Dan


Beschiu, Lucian / arr. Turcanu, Dan

Eleven Miniatures – Chamber Music Etudes for Viola Quartet (First print)

Art.-Nr.: 2909a Kategorien: , , ,



Lucian Beschiu – Composer

Lucian Beschiu (b. 1986) studied orchestral conducting at the National University of Music Bucharest. He earned his doctorate degree at the same university in 2016, with the thesis Musical Rendering – a Phenomenological Approach. The research was written under the guidance of Dan Dediu (Bucharest) and inspired by the phenomenology and conducting classes of Konrad von Abel (Munich). At the core of the thesis lies the understanding and systematization of musical phenomenology in today’s world, starting from the work of Sergiu Celibidache. One of the most noteworthy points in the paper is the proposal of the term “musical rendering” – a ‘fresh’ term with which the author tries to show the essential aspects of approaching music – instead of the commonly used and misused “musical interpretation” – filled with so many additional and sometimes misleading layers of meaning.

Up to 2014, his main activity was conducting, mostly in contemporary music festivals in Romania, like Meridian, SIMN, Bucharest Music Film Festival. He conducted several philharmonic orchestras in his home country, orchestras of the National University of Music Bucharest and project orchestras / ensembles in Romania, Germany, Spain, Belgium. Between 2012 – 2014 he was the main conductor of the SonoMania ensemble, which promotes modern and contemporary music.

Starting with 2015, Lucian Beschiu dedicated himself mainly to composition. Alongside he works as musical editor at Musikproduktion Höflich, where he coordinates score collections, rare / princeps editions and also does arrangements. An essential influence in finding his voice as a composer was Nicolae Coman (with whom he studied composition and harmony for many years) and Dan Dediu (with whom he studied melodics, musical forms, composition and analysis). The phenomenology and conducting classes of Konrad von Abel enabled his further musical development, changed his approach to music making and, as a consequence, his way of writing.

His choir works – Zwei Rilke Lieder and Sieben Verse auf biblische Texte – comissioned and premiered by the MonteverdiChor München were sung in several cities in Bavaria in 2015 and 2017 but also in Romania within the SIMN contemporary music festival 2017. The Spanish Concerto for Bass Trombone and Orchestra was played in 2017 by three Philharmonic Orchestras in Romania (Bacău, Botoşani and Craiova), with Héctor Prietro Sanchez as soloist. The chamber work Văz duhul (for soprano, violin, viola, piano) on verses by Nicolae Coman was performed at two music festivals in Romania, including Meridian in 2017, by the Volte ensemble. Lento rubato for string orchestra was first performed in Germany in May 2017, under the baton of conductor Lavard Skou Larsen, with the Deutsche Kammerakademie Neuss am Rhein. At the end of the same year the work was also presented in Belgium under the direction of Daniel Gazon.

Lucian Beschiu’s voice as a composer encompasses a neotonal and neomodal style, engaging a creative and ludic harmonic language.

Alice Tacu

English translation Lucian Beschiu


Eleven Miniatures for Four Violas

This cycle of pieces was initially commissioned by bass trombone player and teacher Héctor Prieto Sánchez for a series of trombone master classes in Pamplona (2017). The idea behind it was to write small music pieces with specific technical and musical challenges that would stimulate the students to listen to the way they play within an ensemble, to challenge them to think and feel as a group. Later, Dan Ţurcanu arranged and adapted the pieces for string instruments, creating a violin, viola and cello quartet version.

Each movement brings a thematic ensemble exercise involving specific technique, articulation and expression challenges, and other details that need to be perfectly synchronized within a group. Musicians are encouraged to perpetually question their role in the musical discourse being aware of their leading or accompanying function in every moment. The ideas of pulse, rhythm and meter, phrasing and balance are masterfully disguised in something that, at first glance, seems to be “easy music”. Each piece has a very clear structure with contrasting musical character, clever harmonic ideas and melodic themes.

Dan Ţurcanu

Dan Ţurcanu – Arranger

Emerging amongst the circle of a new generation of artists, Dan Turcanu’s musical identity can be summed up as an ebullient violinist combined with the assiduousness and curiosity of a composer. The two sides are evenly balanced in his artistic and pedagogical career and have shaped his personality and musical output.

To date, he has arranged over hundreds of pieces for different instruments and ensembles. Working with students of various ages evoked a great passion in him to create didactic works and inspiring educational compositions which led to the creation and publication of: Pizzicato –  Violin Lesson Book with Chamber Music Arrangements; Easy Oriental Pieces for Violin Beginners, Learn The UAE Anthem for Violin Beginners, etc..

Annie Liew

Score Data


Turcanu Edition




225 x 320 mm


Set Partitur & Stimmen





Nach oben