Bach, Johann Sebastian


Bach, Johann Sebastian

Fuga in sol minore BWV 578 per archi in partitura a quattro (score and parts / edited and engraved by Lucian Beschiu)



Johann Sebastian Bach

Fuga in sol minore per archi in partitura a quattro (BWV 578, ca. 1705)

(b. Eisenach, 31 March 1685 – d. Leipzig, 28 July 1750)

Arranged by Lucian Beschiu (2010)


This little tempo giusto fugal piece in the Italian style has come down to us in an unassuming organ version widely known as the Little Organ Fugue in G minor (to distinguish it from the later and much larger Fantasy and Fugue in G minor for Organ, BWV 542) and has become popular in a multitude of arrangements for a wide range of forces, including a cappella vocal ensemble (Swingle Singers), full orchestra (Leopold Stokowski), brass quintet, and saxophone quartet. Composed in Arnstadt between 1703 and 1707, it is a prime example of a cheerful piece written in the minor mode. Though we do not know for which instruments it was originally conceived, performances by any homogenous ensemble capable of rendering the four-voice texture without effort are permissible. The present version, prepared in 2010 by Lucian Beschiu, can be played equally well by a string quartet or a string orchestra, with the contrabass doubling the cello an octave lower. It was premiered by the Symphonia Momentum under Christoph Schlüren in the auditorium of the Freie Georgenschule, Reutlingen, on 16 November 2010. Follow-up performances by the same musicians took place in the Great Hall of the Munich Musikhochschule on 20 November 2010, and in the Great Broadcasting Studio in Nalepastrasse, Berlin, on 24 November 2010.


Translation: Bradford Robinson


For performance material please contact Musikproduktion Höflich (, Munich.


Vorwort deutsch > HERE

Score Data


Repertoire Explorer






First print


Set Score & Parts


225 x 320 mm

Nach oben