Munich, , Germany
Publisher: Musikproduktion Höflich
Date of Publication: 2018

Score and parts


Ketil Hvoslef, one of the most distinguished Scandinavian composers, was born in Bergen, Norway, in 1939. The son of a famous composer, Harald Sæverud, music was an important part of his life from an early age. He initially studied viola and organ at the Bergen Music Conservatory, then ventured abroad studying composition in Stockholm with Karl Birger Blomdahl and in London with Thomas Rajna and Henri Lazarof. He subsequently taught music theory and ear training at the Bergen Music Conservatory. To date he has penned more than 140 works in all genres from operas to chamber music, orchestral works, TV productions and concerti. His music draws inspiration from traditional classical sources as well as jazz, pop and rock influences. He has been awarded numerous prizes and has been commissioned by leading ensembles and soloists.

The Trombone Kvarttet was composed in 1997, revised in 2012. It was premiered at the Risør Chamber Music Festival (Norway), on June 25th 1997. It is cast in a long single movement with a single meter, 4/4, and tempo, quarter note=120. Variety is obtained by the changing of note values to make the basic pulse quicken or slow down. A great variety of rhythms, textures and dynamics also contribute to capture the interest of the listener. The harmonic language is tonal with considerable chromaticism. Rhythm and melodic material are both quite traditional but not in a hackneyed or predictable way. The quartet does not pose great technical challenges but requires mature musicians to navigate the numerous dynamic, textural, color and mood changes. The musical language, textures and colors are far removed from your typical trombone quartet. This is serious, interesting, skillful, challenging, and thoughtful music. The printing of score and parts is first class including top quality paper.

Reviewer: Karl Hinterbichler
Review Published April 2, 2019