Windhagauer, Horst Rudolf


Windhagauer, Horst Rudolf

Passacaglia für vier Violoncelli/2016  (First print / score & parts)


Windhagauer, Horst Rudolf

Passacaglia für vier Violoncelli/2016  (First print / score & parts)

Horst Rudolf Windhagauer was born in 1955 at Gmunden/Austria and grew up in Nuremberg, a city in nothern Bavaria. Since 1998 he lives with his family in Bamberg.
He studied Violoncello, piano and composition in Nuremberg and Wuerzburg with Claus Reichardt and Prof. Julius Berger. He was a member of several ensembles for chamber music, so the „Trio elegiáque“, the „Arpa Trio“ and the „Cello quartet of Nuremberg“.
Since 1998 he was the leader of the cellist group at the „Chamber orchestra of Bamberg“.
In 2016 he created the „Quartetto cellistico Bamberg“. For this ensemble he wrote and adapted a number of pieces.
Several works for chambermusic he wrote during the years of 2012 until 2017 for the international wellknown ensemble the „Giocoso Quartett“.
Since 1988 he his a teacher for cello at the Highschool for music in Erlangen.
As a student for composition with Gottfried Muller, who was an expert for the music of Bach, he developed as a composer – during many years – a very personal style of music, which lies between his baroque idols, a moderate modern style and the late Richard Strauss.

Passacaglia für vier Violoncelli/2016
Allegro molto quasi presto
Allegro molto, quasi presto e sempre in stretto
The work „Passacaglia for four Cellos“ was composed in March 2016 especially for his newly-established ensemble, the „Quartetto Cellistico Bamberg“ and had its first performance in September 2016 at the Castle of Oberau.
After a short introduction, the music, based on four chromatic minor-chords, developes several variations in a highly encreasing tension including the tempo of the sets, and ends in a final set of rocky rhythms.

Score No.

Special Edition






Go to Top