Coryn, Roland


Coryn, Roland

For Violoncello solo


Roland Coryn
(Kortrijk, 1938)

For Violoncello solo (2015)

Roland Coryn started his music education at the Municipal Academy of Music, Drama and Dance in Harelbeke. He then moved on to the Royal Conservatory of Music in Ghent, where he earned First Prizes for solfège and fugue (Julien Mestdagh), piano (Alex de Vries), harmony (Georges Lonque), counterpoint (Rudolf Vansteenbrugge) and composition (Jean Decadt). At the conservatory, he was also awarded the Higher Diploma for viola (Alphonse Volleman) and chamber music (Arie van de Moortel). As a pianist, Roland Coryn was active in the Flemish Piano Quartet for many years; in the Belgian Chamber Orchestra he played the viola from 1964 to 1977. For this orchestra he composed Triptiek [Triptych], a dixtuor for flute, oboe and eight strings, which landed him the Jef Van Hoof Prize in 1974. Only a year before, Coryn had become a laureate of the Tenuto competition with Quattro movimenti for orchestra and he had written the set piece Fantasia for clarinet and piano, commissioned by the organisation of the Tenuto competition. In 1979, he was asked again to write set pieces for this competition, this time for the strings: Improvisations I, II and III for violin, viola and violoncello respectively, and Thoughts on a Theme for double bass solo. Other chamber music works by him are the Saxophone Quartet, the Clarinet Quartet, Sonatine for two clarinets, Sonata for two pianos, Sonata for viola (or cello) and piano, 13 Miniaturen for flute and string quartet and Octuor for four woodwinds and four strings. At the request of the Belgian Radio and TV (BRT, Channel 3, at that time the Flemish classical music station), Coryn wrote the Sonata for Orchestra. In addition to this, he wrote many other orchestral works such as Vioolconcerto, Due Pitture for orchestra (which also appeared in a version for symphonic wind orchestra), Concerto grosso for string orchestra, Concerto per Banda, Tre Pezzi for string orchestra, Concerto for symphonic wind orchestra and Five Concert Preludes for oboe solo and symphonic wind orchestra.
Roland Coryn was affiliated with the Academies of Music in Harelbeke and Izegem as a teacher of piano, viola and ensemble. At the Royal Conservatory of Ghent, he taught composition to, among others, Lucien Posman

Read full preface / Komplettes Vorwort lesen > HERE

Score No.


Special Edition

The Flemish Music Collection


Solo Instrument


225 x 320 mm


First print

Go to Top