Åm, Magnar


Åm, Magnar

lydar i løynd – 7 små dikt for piano & farvel grenser for piano (performance score/first print)



Magnar Åm – lydar i løynd – 7 små dikt for piano (1970) / farvel grenser (1980) 

(sounds in secret – 7 small poems for piano)

Dates of first performances unknown

Magnar Åm (pronounced “Ohm”) was born in Trondheim. (b. april 9th 1952)

His interest in music revealed itself from early childhood and he began to write small pieces around the age of eleven. He did this in order to make sense of his inner struggles. It was then that he discovered (in his own words) “what a helpful friend music can be”. He describes the process as “going around with an emotional knot and yet making something out of it that sounded beautiful and that others appreciated – a process of metamorphosis”. The piano (his instrument of choice) became “a very close friend”. All the above citations, as well as much of the information under these lines, come from an interview with the composer I conducted on December 7th 2013 in connection with the writing of my book “Opus Perseverat”, Musikproduktion Höflich 2017

As a 16 year old Åm travelled to Bergen in order to attend high school and get a musical education. He attended the U. Pihl School where he received encouragement from Kjell Leikvoll (1924 – 2019). Simultaneously Åm studied organ with Thorleif Aamodt (1909 – 2003). These organ studies culminated in a debut concert and the acquisition of an organist and cantor diploma in 1971. He also found time to take composition lessons with Ketil Hvoslef (b. 1939), conducting lessons with Magnar Mangersnes (b. 1938) and jazz lessons with the pianist Eivin Sannes (1937 – 2019). With Trygve Fischer (1918 – 1980) he learned score reading, using the old clefs.

Keil Hvoslef was the first person who gave Åm serious feed-back on matters of composition in a contemporary language. The singular most important contribution from Hvoslef, as Åm recalls, was the search for freshness in every note, a principle by which Åm (and, indeed, Hvoslef) lives to this day.  …


Full preface / Komplettes Vorwort > HERE

Score Data

Special Edition

Amethyst Edition


Solo Instrument


225 x 320 mm


Performance Score


First print



Go to Top