Schillings, Max von

Schillings, Max von

Violin Concerto Op. 25 (Piano reduction & Solo Violin)


Schillings, Max von – Violin Concerto Op. 25 (Piano reduction & Solo Violin)

The Violin Concerto Op. 25, written in 1909, is Max von Schillings’s main orchestral work between his well-known operas ‘Moloch’ and ‘Mona Lisa’. Without cuts, it lasts a good 45 minutes, and Schillings brought the full sum of his art and care to bear here. That the concerto had no lasting success and is known today only to connoisseurs – and hardly to violinists – as a ‘niche work’ may be regretted, but it is not surprising, for it is neither popular in character nor revolutionary in style. In the fall of 1908, Schillings, a former student of the then highly respected composer Caspar Joseph Brambach and the violinist and conductor Otto von Königslöw, and mentor of the young Wilhelm Furtwängler, had taken up the post of General Music Director at the Royal Opera House in Stuttgart, which at the same time entailed the direction of the Hofcapelle Concerts. This serious task, which he was to serve until 1918 after his elevation to the peerage in 1912, naturally also meant that he had less time for composing than before. …

For more information about the work read the preface to the full score: > HERE

Score No.



Repertoire Explorer


Violin & Orchestra


225 x 320 mm


Piano Reduction & Solo Violon



You may also like…

Go to Top