Rega, Alfonso


Rega, Alfonso

Sinfonia No. 4 in Do Minore. L’olocausto (first edition)



Alfonso Rega

Symphony n°4 “Holocaust”

I composed the Symphony n°4 “Holocaust” especially to appeal to young people to remember and sympathize with this dreadful tragedy of the last century. All along history there have always been genocides but always in the same way: wars, revolutions, violent assuming of power, slaughter, but never a genocide of this magnitude of nearly 6 million people, thought out strategically and carried out with horrible technicality. Some people full of hatred and racism fulfilled this outrageous tragedy. My symphony intends to partly summarize the story through music. It is made up of six movements.

1° Movement:
The Search. The forced gathering of people in streets, houses, offices, schools. Everywhere.

2° Movement:
The Travel. According to some writers like Levi, the most terrible days and weeks were when people crowded like cattle in wagons, without food or water, realizing they were being taken to a place where it would be impossible to return from.

3° Movement:
The Imprisonment. The suffering of imprisonment in horrible conditions they had to survive for one day, for one week, and sometimes for years.

4° Movement:
The Holocaust. The sacrifice of life, which I have no intention to dwell upon, it was so horrible.

5° Movement:
Spring’s Dream. It is the dream of being able to get free to return to life. It is like the bursting of spring during the seasons. I felt this as the yearning of all people for freedom.

6° Movement:
The Liberation. It is a praying for freedom from those who survived. At last they are free and can enjoy the pleasure, the colors of life rediscovered. With martyred bodies and memories of horror, hoping that this barbarity will never repeat itself. Hand in hand, from star to star, marching and taking back ones’ life.
My musical training began at the age of 8 when I learned to play piano and went on to study composition. Although I dedicated my professional career as an International Consultant and had less time for music in those years, I never stopped composing. I’ve composed more than 400 short pieces of classical music and 7 symphonies.

At this point in my life, I am able to dedicate all of my time to composing music. It’s the beginning of a second career, even if it’s one that I’ve pursued my whole life. Now with the evolution of modern music making technology, I’m able to capture the essence of my music as it comes spontaneously, where I receive inspiration on a melody or harmony. I can then work on the composition for months, and in some cases, for over a year to develop and perfect it.



Read full preface / Komplettes Vorwort > HERE

Score Data


Repertoire Explorer






225 x 320 mm

Performance materials



First print


225 x 320 mm

Go to Top