Stalheim, Jostein


Stalheim, Jostein

Hidden Music for flute and piano (First print / score and part)

Art.-Nr.: 4764 Kategorien: , , , Schlüsselwort:


Jostein StalheimHidden Music for flute and piano (2003)

(b. Voss, 23. July 1960)

First peformance:
Gunnar Sævigsalen (Bergen) Bergen Chamber Music Society series.
16. April  2005
Gro Sandvik, flute
Einar Røttingen, piano


Jostein Stalheim was born in Voss, Norway and started composing at an early age. When only 17 years old, his first works were broadcast on both radio and television. He studied composition and accordion at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Copenhagen, Sibelius Academy and at the Norwegian State Academy of Music. Stalheim appears regularly in European festivals as soundpainter, performer and composer. 

Stalheim has written music for orchestra, chamber-ensembles, solo, multimedia and also site-specific productions. Stage music comprises a considerable part of his production; among others the opera “Pr.Warrant’s Progress” and the ballets; “Watch”, “Volatile”, “Alrekr” and “Kast”. He has worked in theatres both as composer and musician, a.o. The Royal Theatre in Copenhagen, Hordaland Teater, Den Nationale Scene, The Norwegian National Ballet and Danseteatret/Carte Blanche in Norway. He has received commissions from ensembles both in Norway and abroad.

Stalheim is internationally recognized as an accordion soloist and performs at festivals and with several international orchestras. He had his breakthrough in 1984 in Nordic Solistbiennale were he performed with Esa Pekka Salonen and Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra. He appears in numerous recordings, both as soloist, as chamber musician and with orchestra; for example Broderfolkonsert, the double concerto by Lasse Thoresen with Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra.

He received a Grant from Norwegian Art Council 2014-2015 to compose music for the opera La Peur et les Soins with libretto by Astrid Luisa Niebuhr. He has composed the music for Watch with premiere in Dansens Hus, Oslo.


Read full preface (Deutsches Vorwort nicht vorhanden) > HERE

Partitur Nr.



Amethyst Edition



Partitur & Stimme






320 x 225 mm landscape format

Nach oben